Alert Mechanism Report 2018

Author (Corporate)
Series Details COM (2017) 771
Publication Date 22/11/2017
Content Type ,


On 22 November 2017 the European Commission presented the Alert Mechanism Report (AMR) for 2018. The Council of the European Union adopted a set of conclusions relating to this report on 23 January 2018.

Further information:

On the basis of the analyses in the AMR, 12 countries were proposed to be covered in an in-depth review in 2018. These are the same countries identified as having imbalances in the previous round of the Macroeconomic Imbalances Procedure (MIP), i.e. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The MIP aims to identify and address imbalances that hinder the smooth functioning of the economies of Member States or the economy of the European Union and may jeopardise the proper functioning of the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU).

The document was published in the framework of the launch of the 2018 European Semester.

Source Link
Related Link(s)
Council of the European Union: Press Release, 23/01/2018: Council conclusions on the 2018 alert mechanism report
European Commission: Alert Mechanism Report (AMR) 2012-

Subject Categories
Subject Tags ,
International Organisations