Bids for Eurogroup Presidency mandate starting in 2020

Author Details
Author (Corporate)
Publication Date 2020
Content Type


Overview and information on the candidates running to become the President of the Eurogroup for the period 2020-2022.

Further information:

The incumbent Eurogroup President Mário Centeno (Portugal) announced on 9 June 2020 he would not seek re-election following his initial mandate of 2,5 years. The call for applications was published on 15 June. Ten days later, it was announced that three Eurozone finance ministers had put forward their names:

  • Nadia Calviño (Spain)
  • Paschal Donohoe (Ireland)
  • Pierre Gramegna (Luxembourg)

The election was scheduled to be held on 9 July 2020.

Related Link(s)
Commentary and Analysis
RTL News, 12/06/2020: Eurozone seeks new lease on life with Centeno exit
The Economist, 20/06/2020: How a dining club briefly took over the EU. What next for the Eurogroup?
Euronews, 24/06/2020: Who will join the race to be the Eurogroup's next president?
The Local (Spain), 25/06/2020: Profile: Nadia Calviño, Spain's candidate to head Eurogroup

Politico, 09/06/2020: Three saddle up for Eurogroup horse race
Delano, 10/06/2020: Eurogroup: Gramegna in the frame to replace Centeno
EurActiv, 12/06/2020: Spain’s Calvino boasts ‘key role’ in Eurogroup to support her candidacy
RTÉ News, 25/06/2020: Donohoe puts his name forward for Eurogroup president job
Reuters, 25/06/2020: Spain, Ireland, Luxembourg vie for Eurogroup leadership
Bloomberg, 25/06/2020: Spain’s Finance Chief Starts as Front-Runner in Eurogroup Race
Associated Press, 25/06/2020: Ireland, Luxembourg, Spain ministers eye top eurozone job
EurActiv, 26/06/2020: Calviño, Donohoe and Gramegna compete for Eurogroup helm
Euronews, 26/06/2020: Finance ministers from Spain, Ireland and Luxembourg join race for Eurogroup presidency
Reuters, 28/06/2020: Portugal PM backs Spain's Calvino as candidate to head Eurogroup

Eurogroup, 25/06/2020: Eurogroup presidency: three ministers put forward their candidacies
Government of Luxembourg: Press Release, 25/06/2020: Pierre Gramegna puts forward his candidacy for the election of the President of the Eurogroup
Irish Government: Press Release, 25/06/2020: Minister Donohoe submits letter of nomination for role of next President of the Eurogroup

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations
Record URL