Convergence Report 2020

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details Number 129
Publication Date June 2020
ISBN 978-92-76-16318-3
ISSN 2443-8014
EC KC-BC-20-006-EN-N
Content Type


Report published by the European Commission on 10 June 2020, comprising an assessment of Member States with a derogation regarding their fulfilment of the conditions for adoption of the common currency (Euro). It was prepared in accordance with Article 140(1) TFEU.

Further information:

The Member States that have not yet fulfilled the necessary conditions for the adoption of the euro are referred to as 'Member States with a derogation'. Denmark negotiated an opt-out arrangement before the adoption of the Maastricht Treaty and does not participate in the third stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). Article 140(1) TFEU requires the Commission and the European Central Bank (ECB) to report to the Council of the European Union, at least once every two years, or at the request of a Member State with a derogation, on the progress made by such Member States in fulfilling their obligations regarding the achievement of EMU.

The 2020 Convergence Report covers the following seven Member States with a derogation: Bulgaria, Czechia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden. A more detailed assessment of the state of convergence in those Member States is provided in the Staff Working Document accompanying this Report.

Source Link
Alternative sources
Related Links
EUR-Lex: COM(2020)237: Convergence Report 2020
EUR-Lex: SWD(2020)107: Staff Working Document accompanying Convergence Report 2020

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
Countries / Regions , , , , , ,
International Organisations
Record URL