United Kingdom general election 2017

Publisher
Publication Date 08/06/2017
Content Type ,

The United Kingdom Prime Minister Theresa May announced on the 18 April 2017 that her Government had agreed to call a general election to be held on the 8 June 2017. She justified the unexpected move in the context of stengthening her mandate and legitimacy in the forthcoming negotiations for the United Kingdom to leave the European Union.

You can also find information in ESO on previous UK general elections via these links:

2015
2010
2005

Further information on the 2017 General Election

UK General Election 2017

Official Sources of Information
UK Parliament: General Information about General Elections 2017
UK Parliament: General Election 2017 Timetable
UK Parliament: Voting Systems in the UK
UK Parliament: Different Ways to Vote
UK Parliament: Registering to Vote
The Electoral Commission: Upcoming Elections & Referendums
The Electoral Commission: UK Parliamentary General Election in Great Britain
The Electoral Commission: UK Parliamentary General Election in Northern Ireland

Introductory Information
BBC: General Election 2017: What you need to know

General Election News
The Financial Times: General Election 2017
The Guardian: General Election 2017
The Independent: General Election 2017
The Telegraph: General Election 2017
Wales Online: General Election 2017

Latest Polls
Financial Times Poll Tracker
Ipsos MORI Voting Intention Trends
Telegraph Poll Tracker
YouGov Voting Intentions

Further Information
Wikipedia: General Election 2017

Main Political Parties
Conservatives
Labour
Liberal Democrats
Plaid Cymru
Scottish National Party
UKIP

Party Leaders
Conservatives: Theresa May
Green Party: Caroline Lucas
Labour: Jeremy Corbyn
Liberal Democrats: Tim Farron
Plaid Cymru: Leanne Wood
Scottish National Party: Nicola Sturgeon
UKIP: Paul Nuttall

Party Manifestos
Manifestos for the June 2017 General Election as published will be listed here.

Conservative Party
Green Party
Labour Party
Liberal Democrats
Plaid Cymru
SDLP
Sinn Féin
SNP
UKIP

+ Comparison of the key points in the manifestos of the Conservative Party, Labour Party and Liberal Democrats (The Guardian)
+ General election 2017: Manifesto guide on where the parties stand (BBC)

[Last updated: 31 May 2017]

Source Link https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Next_United_Kingdom_general_election
Related Link(s)
Politico: Tag: U.K. elections 2017 http://www.politico.eu/tag/u-k-elections-2017/
EurActiv: Tag: British Election 2017 http://www.euractiv.com/topics/british-election-2017/
The Guardian: Tag: General Election 2017 https://www.theguardian.com/politics/general-election-2017
ESO: Find further information on this topic in ESO http://www.europeansources.info/advSearchLink?keyword=united%20kingdom%20parliamentary%20election%202017%20june%20general%20&searchOption=all
The Conversation: Tag: General Election 2017 https://theconversation.com/uk/topics/uk-election-2017-37907
UK: Parliament: House of Commons: Library: Tag: General Elections http://researchbriefings.parliament.uk/?ContentType=&Topic=Parliament%2C+government+and+politics&SubTopic=General+elections&Year=&SortByAscending=false
Institute for Government: Tag: General Election 2017 https://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/blog/?field_themes_tid=375
UCL The Constitution Unit: Tag: 2017 General Election https://constitution-unit.com/tag/2017-general-election/
IFES: Election Guide: United Kingdom 8 JUne 2017 http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/3017/
Robert Schuman Foundation: European Elections Monitor: United Kingdom http://www.robert-schuman.eu/en/the-european-elections-monitor/30-united-kingdom
BBC News: Politics: Election 2017 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election/2017
Blog: LSE EuroppBlog: Tag: GE2017 http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/politicsandpolicy/category/ge2017/
Conservative Home: Tag: General Election 2017 http://www.conservativehome.com/tag/general-election-2017
The Spectator: Tag: General Election 2017 https://www.spectator.co.uk/general-election-2017/
New Statesman: Tag: Election June 2017 http://elections.newstatesman.com/
UK: Parliament: House of Commons: Library: Publications & records: Research publications: Research briefings: General Election 2017: Results and analysis, June 2017 http://researchbriefings.parliament.uk/ResearchBriefing/Summary/CBP-7979

Countries / Regions