US Presidential Election 2016: European Think Tanks react to the result: What Donald Trump’s victory means for democracy and government

Author (Person)
Publisher
Series Title
Series Details 09.11.16
Publication Date 09/11/2016
Content Type

Analysis feature. Donald Trump has been elected the 45th President of the United States on the 8 November 2016. Bronwen Maddox said his victory not only posed immediate questions about the direction of the US – it raised bigger questions about how to govern a deeply divided country.

Further think tank analysis and commentary of the results of the US 2016 Presidential Election via the related url hyperlinks

Source Link www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/blog/14882/what-donald-trumps-victory-means-for-democracy-and-government/
Related Link(s)
ESO: Background information: World becomes unpredictable as ‘populist’ Trump wins US election http://www.europeansources.info/record/world-becomes-unpredictable-as-populist-trump-wins-us-election/
ESO: Background information: US elections [What Think Tanks Are Thinking](articles written before the result) http://www.europeansources.info/record/us-elections-what-think-tanks-are-thinking/
Chatham House: Expert Comment, 09.11.16: Can Donald Trump Bridge the Chasm and Govern for All? https://www.chathamhouse.org/expert/comment/can-donald-trump-bridge-chasm-and-govern-all
Carnegie Europe: Strategic Europe, 09.11.16: Judy Asks: Judy Asks: Are Europe’s Leaders Prepared for a Changing America? http://carnegieeurope.eu/strategiceurope/65068
ECFR: Commentary, 09.11.16: Europe, Alone in Trump’s World http://www.ecfr.eu/article/commentary_europe_alone_in_trumps_world7075
ECFR: Commentary, 09.11.16: Russia happy but wary in anticipation of a ‘new reset’ http://www.ecfr.eu/article/commentary_russia_happy_but_wary_in_anticipation_of_a_new_reset7074
ECFR: Commentary, 09.11.16: Ankara happy with a Trump win http://www.ecfr.eu/article/commentary_ankara_happy_with_a_trump_win7073
ECFR: Commentary, 09.11.16: Ukraine, Trump and the new unpredictability http://www.ecfr.eu/article/commentary_ukraine_trump_and_the_new_unpredictability7072
Carnegie Europe: Strategic Europe, 10.11.16: Trump Wins—and Now? http://carnegieeurope.eu/strategiceurope/?fa=65097
Blog: Bruegel, 09.11.16: President Trump: what next for global climate action? http://bruegel.org/2016/11/president-trump-what-next-for-global-climate-action/
Blog: Bruegel, 09.11.16: Income inequality boosted Trump vote http://bruegel.org/2016/11/income-inequality-boosted-trump-vote/
CEPS: Commentary, 09.11.16: Trump’s election foreshadows further divisions in Europe https://www.ceps.eu/system/files/US%20President%20and%20Europe_0.pdf
EPC: Commentary, 09.11.16: The insurgency takes Washington http://www.epc.eu/documents/uploads/pub_7126_insurgencytakeswashington.pdf
Project Syndicate, 09.11.16: Europe, Alone in Trump’s World https://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/europe-faces-trump-transatlantic-breakdown-by-mark-leonard-2016-11
Blog: LSE EuroppBlog, 10.11.16: Sir Robert Cooper: 'Trump’s victory puts Europe in unknown territory' http://bit.ly/2g0OzbX
Blog: LSE EuroppBlog, 10.11.16: Europe in the Age of Trump: A more uncertain and unstable continent http://bit.ly/2fF5Zbo
Chatham House: Expert Comment, 10.11.16: How Did Trump Win and What Happens Next? https://www.chathamhouse.org/expert/comment/how-did-trump-win-and-what-happens-next
Chatham House: Expert Comment, 09.11.16: Can Donald Trump Really Lead the Free World? https://www.chathamhouse.org/expert/comment/can-donald-trump-really-lead-free-world
Chatham House: Expert Comment, 10.11.16: What Does the Trump Win Mean for the European Economy? https://www.chathamhouse.org/expert/comment/what-does-trump-win-mean-european-economy
ECFR: Podcast, 09.11.16: ECFR’s World In 30 Minutes - How should Europe respond to President Trump? http://www.ecfr.eu/podcasts/episode/ecfrs_world_in_30_minutes_how_should_europe_respond_to_president_trump
PISM: Publications > Bulletin PISM, 10.11.16 > Probable U.S. Policy Directions under President Trump http://www.pism.pl/publications/bulletin/no-73-923
Clingendael: Publications, 10.11.16: Donald Trump as a Nixonian president https://www.clingendael.nl/publication/donald-trump-nixonian-president
Project Syndicate, 09.11.16: Trump’s New World Disorder https://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/trump-new-world-disorder-by-philippe-legrain-2016-11
Blog: LSE EuroppBlog, 11.11.16: How a small Cambridge-based startup correctly predicted a Trump victory http://bit.ly/2fVv5WO
ECFR: Debate: US elections 2016 http://www.ecfr.eu/debate/us_elections
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, 11.11.16: U.S. Allies and Rivals Digest Trump’s Victory http://carnegieendowment.org/2016/11/11/u.s.-allies-and-rivals-digest-trump-s-victory-pub-65117
Blog: Open Europe, 18.11.16: The view from Brussels: Trump’s effect on the EU http://openeurope.org.uk/today/blog/view-brussels-trumps-effect-eu/

Countries / Regions , , , , ,