2019 European Parliament election in Cyprus

Author Details
Author (Corporate)
Publication Date May 2019
Content Type

Summary:

Reports, analyses and information on the electoral campaign and the aftermath of the European Parliament election held in Cyprus on 26 May 2019.

Further information:

Cyprus sends six MEPs out of the total of 705 in the European Parliament. The election was expected to be largely about the race for the sixth MEP seat.

Local problems dominated the public debate, notably reunification and the crisis with Turkey over hydrocarbon exploration.

Ruling centre-right DISY, as predicted, came out on top in the election (29,02%), with opposition AKEL trailing closely behind at 27,49%. Centre-right DIKO came in third with 13,8%, socialist EDEK with 10,58%, far-right ELAM with 8% and DIPA, the party of former DIKO leader Marios Garoyian at 3,8%.

For the first time, a Turkish Cyprot, Niyazi Kizilyurek (AKEL), was elected as an MEP on the ethnically divided island.

Related Link(s)
Commentary and Analysis
Wikipedia: 2019 European Parliament election in Cyprus https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_European_Parliament_election_in_Cyprus
Politico: 2019 European elections Cyprus https://www.politico.eu/2019-european-elections/cyprus/
EurActiv, 12/04/2019: EU country briefing: Cyprus https://www.euractiv.com/section/eu-elections-2019/news/eu-country-briefing-cyprus/
The New Federalist, 18/05/2019: Cyprus: European elections on a divided island https://www.thenewfederalist.eu/cyprus-european-elections-on-a-divided-island

News
Financial Mirror, 17/05/2019: European election is breaking taboos in Cyprus https://www.financialmirror.com/news-details.php?nid=36972
Cyprus Mail, 19/05/2019: Cyprus and the Euro elections: a dearth of issues https://cyprus-mail.com/2019/05/19/cyprus-and-the-euro-elections-a-dearth-of-issues/
Deutsche Welle, 17/05/2019: Inside Europe: Election candidate spans the Cypriot divide https://p.dw.com/p/3IbsL
Cyprus Mail, 26/05/2019: Euro-election winners Disy and Akel concerned over support for Elam (Update 8) https://cyprus-mail.com/2019/05/26/exit-polls-in-european-elections-shows-close-disy-akel-race/
France24, 26/05/2019: Cyprus elects first Turkish Cypriot as MEP https://www.france24.com/en/20190526-cyprus-elects-first-turkish-cypriot-mep

Official
European Elections.eu: How to Vote in Cyprus https://www.european-elections.eu/how-to-vote/cyprus
Election Results.eu: National Results Cyprus https://election-results.eu/national-results/cyprus/2019-2024/

ESO Records
Political campaign ahead of 2019 European Parliament elections https://www.europeansources.info/record/political-campaign-ahead-of-2019-european-parliament-elections/
European Parliament elections, 23-26 May 2019 https://www.europeansources.info/record/european-parliament-elections-23-26-may-2019/

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
Keywords
Countries / Regions
International Organisations