Aviation Safety: Commission adopts new EU Air Safety List

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details IP/20/981
Publication Date 02/06/2020
Content Type


The European Commission adopted on 2 June 2020 an update to the EU Air Safety List - the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

Further information:

Following this update, all airlines certified in Armenia were added to the list, after further assessment of the country's safety oversight capabilities. In addition, the list of air carriers certified in the Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo), Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nepal, and Sierra Leone were reviewed and amended, with new carriers from these countries added, and carriers which ceased to exist removed.

A total of 96 airlines were banned from EU skies following this update, which was based on the unanimous opinion of Member State aviation safety experts after a meeting held on 12-14 May 2020 under the aspices of the EU Air Safety Committee (ASC).

Source Link https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/ip_20_981
Related Links
European Commission: Questions and answers: Commission adopts new EU Air Safety List (2 June 2020) https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/qanda_20_982

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations