Aviation Safety: Commission adopts new EU Air Safety List

Author (Corporate)
Series Details IP/19/6686
Publication Date 09/12/2019
Content Type


The European Commission updated on 9 December 2019 the EU Air Safety List - the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

Further information:

This update of the Air Safety List was based on the unanimous opinion of the aviation safety experts from the Member States who met in November 2019 under the auspices of the EU Air Safety Committee (ASC).

Following this update, a total of 115 airlines are banned from EU skies:

  • 109 airlines certified in 15 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states;
  • Six individual airlines, based on safety concerns with regard to these airlines themselves.

An additional three airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types.

Source Link https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/ip_19_6686
Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations