Bids for Eurogroup Presidency mandate starting in 2018

Author Details
Author (Corporate)
Publication Date 2017
Content Type


Overview and information on the candidates running to become the President of the Eurogroup for the period 2018-2020.

Further information:

The new President would succeed incumbent Jeroen Dijsselbloem (the Netherlands), who was not eligible upon the expiry of his mandate in January 2018.

Four candidates were announced on 30 November 2017:

  • Dana Reizniece-Ozola (Latvia)
  • Mário Centeno (Portugal)
  • Peter Kazimir (Slovakia)
  • Pierre Gramegna (Luxembourg)

Media outlets highlighted the fine balance required in electing the successor as head of this informal group of Finance Ministers, both geographically and politically. The Portuguese minister emerged as the favourite, as the centre-left was seen as likely to take the job (the centre-right already held most of the top jobs in the European institutions).

The election (simple majority required) was held on 4 December, during a meeting of the Eurogroup. Mr Centeno was eventually elected in the second round of votes, following the withdrawal of the remaining candidates. Mário Centeno's mandate as head of the Eurogroup started on 13 January 2018.

Related Link(s)
Commentary and Analysis
Politico, 04/12/2017: How Eurogroup’s ‘Cristiano Ronaldo’ got to captain the team
France24, 04/12/2017: Mario Centeno, the 'Ronaldo' of the eurozone
openDemocracy: Can Europe Make It, 11/12/2017: How Mario Centeno could change Europe

Reuters, 06/11/2017: Slovakia's Kazimir bids to chair euro zone finance ministers
The Slovak Spectator, 06/11/2017: Slovak FinMin is interested in becoming Eurogroup head
Malta Today, 06/11/2017: Edward Scicluna eyes euro area finance ministers’ top post
Luxemburger Wort, 06/11/2017: Five nations most likely to win musical chairs for top euro job
Malta Today, 30/11/2017: Four candidates vying for Eurogroup presidency and Edward Scicluna is not one of them
The Slovak Spectator, 30/11/2017: Kažimír: I see the eurozone as the driving force of European integration
Reuters, 30/11/2017: Latvia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Slovakia bid for Eurogroup chair
Politico, 30/11/2017: Eastern Europe strikes back at EU establishment with Eurogroup bid
Politico, 01/12/2017: Charges of backroom deal wreak havoc in Eurogroup race
EUObserver, 04/12/2017: Portuguese minister favourite in 'open' Eurogroup race
EurActiv, 04/12/2017: Battle to lead Eurogroup reaches climax
Deutsche Welle, 04/12/2017: Eurozone finance ministers pick Portuguese as their new leader
Politico, 04/12/2017: Eurogroup’s next leader will be Portugal’s Mário Centeno
Delano, 04/12/2017: Gramegna loses Eurogroup bid
The Slovak Spectator, 04/12/2017: Slovak finance chief fails to become new head of the Eurogroup
The New York Times, 04/12/2017: Eurogroup, Looking Past Period of Crisis, Picks New Leader From Portugal
EUObserver, 05/12/2017: Centeno: Eurogroup picks Southern head
EurActiv, 05/12/2017: Portugal scores again, landing Eurogroup presidency

Eurogroup: Press Release, 30/11/2017: Four candidates declared for Eurogroup presidency
Eurogroup: Press Release, 04/12/2017: Mário Centeno to become next Eurogroup President
EIB: Newsroom, 05/12/2017: EU Bank welcomes election of Mario Centeno, Portugal’s Finance Minister and Chairman of the EIB Board of Governors, to President of the Eurogroup

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations