Commission updates the EU Air Safety List to maintain highest level of protection for passengers

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details IP/19/2133
Publication Date 16/04/2019


The European Commission updated on 16 April 2019 the EU Air Safety List - the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

Further information:

The update of the Air Safety List was based on the unanimous opinion of the aviation safety experts from the Member States who met earlier in the month within the EU Air Safety Committee (ASC).

Following this update, a total of 120 airlines had been imposed a ban from EU skies:

  • 114 airlines certified in 16 states, due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states;
  • Six individual airlines, based on safety concerns with regard to these airlines themselves.

An additional four airlines were subject to operational restrictions and could only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types.

Source Link
Related Link(s)
European Commission: Fact Sheet, 16/04/2019: EU Air Safety List: Questions and answers on air carriers that are restricted from operating within the European Union

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations