EU–Latin America trade relations: Overview and figures

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details March 2016
Publication Date March 2016
ISBN 978-92-823-8908-9
EC QA-01-16-261-EN-N
Content Type

Trade relations between the EU and Latin American countries have come back into the spotlight in recent years. Collectively, the countries forming the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) represent the fifth largest trading partner of the EU. The EU has concluded agreements with two Latin American (LA) groupings (Cariforum and the Central America group) and with four other Latin American countries (Mexico, Chile, Peru and Colombia).

The FTAs concluded by the EU with Latin American countries differ considerably in terms of coverage and methodology depending on the time at which they were concluded and the context of the negotiations. The EU now aims to modernise the oldest FTAs, concluded with Mexico and Chile, in order to align them to the current standards of EU FTAs.

The long-standing negotiations on a comprehensive trade agreement with Mercosur – which would mean the EU then had trade agreements with nearly all of Latin America – are yet to pick up pace, however.

Source Link
Related Links
European Parliament: Directorate-General for Internal Policies of the Union: Publications available via the EU Bookshop
European Parliament: European Parliamentary Research Service: In-Depth Analysis, March 2016: EU–Latin America trade relations: Overview and figures
EU: EEAS: The EU's relations with Latin America and the Caribbean
European Commission: DG Trade: Policy: Countries and Regions: Regions
EurActiv, 18.03.16: EU in Latin America trade push

Countries / Regions ,