EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details C 29, Pages 2
Publication Date 26/01/2018
Content Type


Amendment to Council conclusions setting out the European Union's list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

Further information:

The EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes was set up to promote good governance in taxation worldwide. The initial list was published in December 2017. While it is revised once a year, the so-called Code of Conduct Group - featuring representatives of the European Commission and of EU Member States - can recommend an update at any time.

The Decision to amend the list was taken in light of an expert assessment of the commitments made by a number of jurisdictions to address deficiencies identified by the European Union. In each case, the commitments were backed by letters signed at a high political level. Barbados, Grenada, the Republic of Korea, Macao SAR, Mongolia, Panama, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates were therefore removed from the list and moved to a separate category of jurisdictions subject to close monitoring.

The Conclusions comprising the decision was adopted at a meeting of the Council of the European Union on 23 January 2018. The amendment was published in the Official Journal on 26 January.

Source Link
Related Links
Deutsche Welle, 23/01/2018: EU tax haven blacklist: Finance ministers remove eight countries, including Panama
EUObserver, 23/01/2018: EU states loosen grip on tax havens
Euronews, 23/01/2018: EU removes 8 countries from controversital tax blacklist
Politico, 23/01/2018: 8 countries removed from EU tax haven blacklist, sparking criticism
EurActiv, 24/01/2018: Uproar over removal of Panama and seven others from EU tax haven blacklist

Council of the European Union: Press Release, 23/01/2018: Taxation: Eight jurisdictions removed from EU list

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
Keywords ,
Countries / Regions , , , , , , ,
International Organisations