Memo: Statement of the European Commissioner for Home Affairs, Cecilia Malmström, on the 25th Anniversary of Schengen: ‘Twenty-five years of removing borders’

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details MEMO/10/251 (11.6.10)
Publication Date 11/06/2010
Content Type ,

Twenty-five years ago, five EU countries – Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands – began the process of further deepening European integration by removing border controls through the Schengen Agreement. As a result of the subsequent expansion of the Schengen Area, seamless, passport-free travel is now enjoyed by over 400 million Europeans.

Source Link
Related Links
ESO: Background Information: Europe without borders - 15 years of the Schengen zone
European Commission: Memo: MEMO/10/249:The European Union celebrates the 25th anniversary of the Schengen Area
EurActiv, 14.6.10: Schengen celebrates, prepares for enlargement

Subject Categories
Countries / Regions