Press Release: Ireland and the United Kingdom – Cross-border Cooperation Programme 2007-13: Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Western Scotland

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details IP/08/93 (18.02.08)
Publication Date 18/02/2008
Content Type

On 6 November 2007, the European Commission approved a European Cross-border Cooperation Programme between Ireland and the United Kingdom for the 2007-13 period.

The 'Northern Ireland, the Border Region of Ireland and Western Scotland' Cross-border Cooperation Programme involves Community support for the following eight regions: (1) the Border Region of Ireland; (2) East of Northern Ireland; (3) North of Northern Ireland; (4) West and South of Northern Ireland; (5) Dumfries and Galloway; (6) East Ayrshire; (7) North Ayrshire mainland; and (8) South Ayrshire – as well as for the regions of Lochaber, Skye and Lochalsh, Arran and Cumbrae and Argyll and Bute. The regions Belfast, Outer Belfast and Eilean Siar (Western Isles), in the United Kingdom, can participate in the projects as adjacent areas receiving a maximum of 20% of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) support allocated to the Programme.

The Cross-border Cooperation Programme falls within the European Territorial Cooperation Objective framework and has a total budget of around €256 million. Community investment through the ERDF amounts to some €192 million.

Source Link
Countries / Regions ,