Russia’s New Strategy for Caspian Relations

Author (Person)
Series Title
Series Details 18.12.17
Publication Date 18/12/2017
Content Type

Commentary feature. In anticipation of a long-awaited final agreement on the international status of the Caspian Sea, possibly to be signed off in the spring of 2018, Russia has started testing a new approach to its relations with the other four littoral states - Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Iran.

Further information

The Fifth Caspian Summit took place at Aktau in the Republic of Kazakhstan in August 2018. The five countries signed the Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea. However, some commentators downplayed the signing of the agreement saying there still was no agreement on the precise demarcation of the Caspian Sea between the five states.

Source Link
Related Link(s)
Iran Daily, 06.12.17: Lavrov: Five Caspian Sea Littoral States agree on legal regime ...
EurActiv, 13.08.18: Caspian Five settle row over sea’s legal status, demarcation pending
Russia: President of Russia: Kremlin: Convention on the Legal Status of the Caspian Sea, August 2018
Forbes, 14.08.18: Tehran Tries To Face Down Domestic Critics Of Caspian Sea Deal
BBC News, 12.08.18: Caspian Sea: Five countries sign deal to end dispute

Countries / Regions ,