Sakharov Prize 2015

Author (Person)
Publication Date 29/10/2015
Content Type


The nominations for the European Parliament's 2015 Sakharov Prize were announced on 10 September 2015. These nominations were formally presented on 28 September, during a joint meeting of the foreign affairs and development committees and the human rights subcommittee.

On 29 October, the European Parliament announced its decision to award the Sakharov Prize to Raif Badawi.

Further information:

The nominees for 2015 Sakharov Prize are:

+ Raif Badawi
+ Political prisoners in Venezuala and the democratic opposition embodied by the Mesa de la Unidad Democrática
+ Edna Adan Ismail
+ Boris Nemtsov
+ Nadiya Savchenko
+ Edward Snowden
+ Antoine Deltour
+ Stéphanie Gibaud

Saudi blogger Raif Badawi, the Democratic Opposition in Venezuela and the Russian opposition politician Boris Nemtsov were announced as the three finalists for the Prize, following a vote during a meeting of the European Parliament's foreign affairs and development committees and the human rights subcommittee on 14 October 2015.

The Sakharov award ceremony was held in Strasbourg on 16 December.

Related Links
The Guardian, 29.10.15: Raif Badawi wins EU's Sakharov human rights prize
BBC News, 29.10.15: Saudi blogger Raif Badawi awarded Sakharov human rights prize
The New York Times, 29.10.15: Saudi Blogger Raif Badawi Gets Sakharov Prize, Top E.U. Human Rights Award
Deutsche Welle, 29.10.15: Saudi-blogger Raif Badawi awarded 2015 Sakharov Prize
Deutsche Welle, 29.10.15: Sakharov Prize-winner Raif Badawi
EUObserver, 29.10.15: Raif Badawi: Saudi blogger wins Sakharov Prize
European Parliament: Press Release, 16.12.15: Sakharov Prize award ceremony: 'Raif Badawi was brave enough to say no to their barbarity'
European Parliament: Press Release, 15.10.15: Sakharov Prize finalists: Raif Badawi, Democratic opposition of Venezuela and Boris Nemtsov
EurActiv, 11.09.15: Nemtsov and others nominated for Sakharov prize
The Moscow Times, 11.09.15: Nemtsov, Savchenko and Snowden Nominated for European Sakharov Prize
European Parliament: Press Release, 29.10.15: European Parliament awards Sakharov Prize to Raif Badawi
Publications Office of the European Union: The book of Sakharov prize laureates 2015

Subject Categories
Countries / Regions