Series Title
Series Details 31/10/01, Volume 7, Number 40
Publication Date 31/10/2001
Content Type

Date: 31/10/01

  • Martti Ahtisaari, former Finnish President, Balkans peace negotiator
  • Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times European Edition
  • Silvio Berlusconi, Italian Prime Minister
  • Tony Blair, UK Prime Minister
  • Jens-Peter Bonde, Danish MEP and leading Eurosceptic
  • Bono, musician and debt-relief campaigner
  • Jean-Marc Bosman, Belgian footballer and transfer-fee campaigner
  • José Bové, farmer and anti-globalisation activist
  • Richard Branson, media/transport tycoon
  • George Bush, US President, a major influence on the EU agenda
  • Tony Bunyan, anti-secrecy campaigner
  • Philippe Camus, co-CEO of the European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company (EADS)
  • Michael Cashman, British MEP and anti-secrecy champion
  • Daniel Cohn-Bendit, French MEP and Green activist
  • The Corrs, pop group and copyright campaigners
  • Anthony Coughlan, Irish anti-Nice Treaty campaigner
  • Pat Cox, Irish MEP and Parliament President candidate
  • Jacques Delors, former Commission President, now head of think-tank
  • Anna Diamantopoulou, Social Affairs Commissioner
  • Wim Duisenberg, European Central Bank President
  • Jonathan Faull, European Commission spokesman
  • Joschka Fischer, German Foreign Minister
  • Chris Gent, CEO of Vodafone
  • Bronislaw Geremek, former Polish foreign minister and Laeken 'wise man'
  • Enrique Gonzalez-Diaz, EU merger task force member
  • Heidi Hautala, Finnish MEP and environment campaigner
  • Václav Havel, Czech President
  • Toomas Ilves, Estonian Foreign Minister
  • Jan Karlsson, European Court of Auditors President
  • Renate Künast, German Agriculture Minister
  • Jo Leinen, German MEP, federalist
  • Beate Lindemann, head of
  • Atlantik-Brücke, US-German liaison organisation
  • Anna Lindh, Swedish Foreign Minister
  • Pascal Lamy, Trade Commissioner
  • Jules Maaten, Dutch MEP and rapporteur on tobacco directive
  • Louis Michel, Belgian Foreign Minister
  • Mario Monti, Competition Commissioner
  • Miguel Moratinos, EU envoy to Middle East
  • Chris Patten, External Relations Commissioner
  • Göran Persson, Swedish Prime Minister
  • Didier Reynders, Belgian Finance Minister
  • Gil Carlos Rodriguez Iglesias, European Court of Justice President
  • Jacek Saryusz-Wolski, head of Poland's Committee on European Integration
  • Gerhard Schröder, German Chancellor
  • Jacob Söderman, EU Ombudsman
  • Javier Solana, EU foreign policy chief
  • Steve Thoburn, greengrocer and anti-metric measures campaigner
  • Guy Verhofstadt, Belgian Prime Minister
  • Lars Von Trier, Danish film-maker
  • Margot Wallström, Environment Commissioner
  • This is your opportunity to choose the top ten Europeans of the Year from among the distinguished ranks of the EV50. Voting is easy. Just fill in our online ballot at Choose one selection for each of the categories. You may only vote once and the deadline for voting is 15 November. European Voice will give €5,000 to each category winner for them to donate to the charity of their choice.
Subject Categories