The parliamentary elections in Montenegro

Author (Person)
Series Title
Series Details 19.10.16
Publication Date 19/10/2016
Content Type


The parliamentary elections in Montenegro on 16 October 2016 were won by the Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS) under Prime Minister Milo Djukanović, which has been in power since 1991, on a 71% turnout. According to preliminary results, the DPS received 41% of the vote (36 seats out of 81 in the parliament). The Social Democrats of Montenegro (SD), which cooperates closely with the DPS, also won two seats.

The night before the elections, Montenegrin police detained 20 Serbian citizens on charges of planning acts of terrorism and organising a coup. The arrests were criticised by the Prime Minister of Serbia, Aleksandar Vučić, who suggested that the actual reasons were different than those given by the Montenegrin government. In connection with the police action, four opposition parties have refused to recognise the results of the election, in contrast to representatives of the EU and NATO.

Source Link
Related Links
ESO: Background information: Montenegro ahead of the 2016 elections
ESO: Background information: Election in Montenegro won by ruling party and married by 'coup' accusations

Subject Categories
Countries / Regions