Website: Joint Committee European Supervisory Authorities

Author (Corporate)
Publication Date 2016
Content Type ,

The Joint Committee is a forum with the objective of strengthening cooperation between the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) and the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), collectively known as the three European Supervisory Authorities (ESAs).

Through the Joint Committee, the three ESAs coordinate their supervisory activities in the scope of their respective responsibilities regularly and closely and ensure consistency in their practices. In particular, the Joint Committee works in the areas of micro-prudential analyses of cross-sectoral developments, risks and vulnerabilities for financial stability, retail investment products, supervision of financial conglomerates, accounting and auditing, and measures combating money laundering. The ESAs, within the Joint Committee, jointly explore and monitor potential emerging risks for financial markets participants and the financial system as a whole.

In addition to being a forum for cooperation, the Joint Committee plays an important role in the exchange of information with the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) and in developing the relationship between the ESRB and the ESAs.

Source Link
Subject Categories
Countries / Regions