2018 European Capitals of Culture: Leeuwarden and Valletta

Series Details IP/17/5309
Publication Date 03/01/2018
Content Type


Leeuwarden (the Netherlands) and Valetta (Malta) were the European Capitals of Culture throughout 2018, starting on 1 January.

Further information:

The opening celebrations for Valletta took place from 14 to 20 January across the city, inspired by the traditional Maltese festa (village feast). In Leeuwarden, celebrations kicked off on 26 and 27 January, with artistic installations and performances by professional and amateur artists across the city, and museums opening their doors to visitors throughout the Friesland region.

The European Capital of Culture was initiated in 1985 and became one of the most high-profile cultural initiatives in Europe. The cities are selected on the basis of a cultural programme that must include a strong European dimension, promote the participation and involvement of the city's inhabitants and contribute to the long-term development of the city and its surrounding region.

It is also an opportunity for the cities to shape their image, put themselves on the world map, attract more tourists and think about their own development through culture.

Source Link http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-17-5309_en.htm
Related Links
Deutsche Welle, 28.12.17: European Cultural Capitals of 2018: two cities, two concepts http://p.dw.com/p/2pi38
Malta Today, 04.01.18: Valletta is European Capital of Culture. Reasons to celebrate? https://www.maltatoday.com.mt/arts/valletta_2018/83414/valletta_is_european_capital_of_culture_reasons_to_celebrate

Website of Leeuwarden 2018 - European Capital of Culture https://www.friesland.nl/en/european-capital-of-culture
Website of Valetta 2018 - European Capital of Culture http://valletta2018.org/
EUR-Lex: COM (2014) 253: Recommendation for a Council Decision designating the European Capital of Culture for the year 2018 in the Netherlands https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014D0352
EUR-Lex: COM (2013) 248: Recommendation designating the European Capital of Culture for the year 2017 in Denmark and in Cyprus and the European Capital of Culture for the year 2018 in Malta https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/HIS/?uri=CELEX:32013D0286
European Commission: Press Release, 12/10/2012: Valletta to be the European Capital of Culture in Malta in 2018 https://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-12-1099_en.htm
European Commission: Press Release, 30/11/2012: Eindhoven, Leeuwarden and Maastricht to compete for title of European Capital of Culture 2018 https://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-12-1300_en.htm
European Commission: Press Release, 06/09/2013: Leeuwarden to be the European Capital of Culture in the Netherlands in 2018 https://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-13-819_en.htm

Subject Categories
Countries / Regions ,
International Organisations
Record URL https://www.europeansources.info/record/?p=509288