Bids for Eurogroup Presidency mandate starting in 2020

Author Details
Author (Corporate)
Publication Date 2020
Content Type


Overview and information on the candidates running to become the President of the Eurogroup for the period 2020-2022.

Further information:

The Eurogroup is an informal group of finance ministers of Eurozone Member States. The incumbent Eurogroup President Mário Centeno (Portugal) announced on 9 June 2020 he would not seek re-election following his initial mandate of 2,5 years. The call for applications was published on 15 June. Ten days later, it was announced that three Eurozone finance ministers had put forward their names:

  • Nadia Calviño (Spain)
  • Paschal Donohoe (Ireland)
  • Pierre Gramegna (Luxembourg)

The election was held on 9 July 2020 during a meeting of the Eurogroup. Following a first round where none of the candidates gathered enough votes for an outright victory, Mr Gramegna withdrew his candidacy. Ireland's Paschal Donohoe eventually won the election to become the next President of the Eurogroup.

Related Links
Commentary and Analysis
RTL News, 12/06/2020: Eurozone seeks new lease on life with Centeno exit
The Economist, 20/06/2020: How a dining club briefly took over the EU. What next for the Eurogroup?
Euronews, 24/06/2020: Who will join the race to be the Eurogroup's next president?
The Local (Spain), 25/06/2020: Profile: Nadia Calviño, Spain's candidate to head Eurogroup
Politico, 01/07/2020: Nadia Calviño’s daunting Eurogroup bid
Politico, 04/07/2020: Irish candidate for Eurogroup chief puts recovery top of agenda
UK in a Changing Europe: Analysis, 07/07/2020: The Eurogroup: no longer ‘jobs for the boys’?
Politico, 08/07/2020: Luxembourg’s Gramegna banks on credentials, recovery pitch in Eurogroup race
Euronews, 09/07/2020: Decision day in the race for Eurogroup presidency

Politico, 09/06/2020: Three saddle up for Eurogroup horse race
Delano, 10/06/2020: Eurogroup: Gramegna in the frame to replace Centeno
EurActiv, 12/06/2020: Spain’s Calvino boasts ‘key role’ in Eurogroup to support her candidacy
RTÉ News, 25/06/2020: Donohoe puts his name forward for Eurogroup president job
Reuters, 25/06/2020: Spain, Ireland, Luxembourg vie for Eurogroup leadership
Bloomberg, 25/06/2020: Spain’s Finance Chief Starts as Front-Runner in Eurogroup Race
Associated Press, 25/06/2020: Ireland, Luxembourg, Spain ministers eye top eurozone job
EurActiv, 26/06/2020: Calviño, Donohoe and Gramegna compete for Eurogroup helm
Euronews, 26/06/2020: Finance ministers from Spain, Ireland and Luxembourg join race for Eurogroup presidency
Reuters, 28/06/2020: Portugal PM backs Spain's Calvino as candidate to head Eurogroup
RTÉ News, 09/07/2020: Paschal Donohoe seeks presidency of Eurogroup finance ministers
EurActiv, 09/07/2020: Election day: Calviño and Donohoe neck and neck in Eurogroup race
Politico, 09/07/2020: Eurozone finance ministers prepare to cast e-ballots for president
Associated Press, 09/07/2020: Powerful euro single currency bloc to pick new president
Politico, 09/07/2020: Ireland’s Paschal Donohoe wins Eurogroup presidency
The Irish Times, 09/07/2020: Paschal Donohoe’s election as Eurogroup president ‘a great win for Ireland’, says Taoiseach
Euronews, 09/07/2020: Ireland's Paschal Donohoe wins Eurogroup presidency, beating Spain's Nadia Calvino
Deutsche Welle, 09/07/2020: Ireland's Paschal Donohoe voted new chief of Eurogroup
Reuters, 09/07/2020: France backs Spanish candidate to lead Eurogroup of finance ministers
EurActiv, 09/07/2020: Donohoe wins Eurogroup presidency
RTÉ News, 09/07/2020: Paschal Donohoe elected head of eurozone finance ministers, 10//07/2020: Eurogroup: Donohoe beats Gramegna and Calviño

General Secretariat of the Council: Infographic: Election of the Eurogroup President
Eurogroup, 25/06/2020: Eurogroup presidency: three ministers put forward their candidacies
Government of Luxembourg: Press Release, 25/06/2020: Pierre Gramegna puts forward his candidacy for the election of the President of the Eurogroup
Irish Government: Press Release, 25/06/2020: Minister Donohoe submits letter of nomination for role of next President of the Eurogroup
EPP Group: Press Release, 29/06/2020: EPP supports Paschal Donohoe for Eurogroup President
Eurogroup: Press Release, 09/07/2020: Paschal Donohoe elected Eurogroup President
Renew Europe Group: News, 09/07/2020: Eurogroup President: Renew Europe calls on Paschal Donohoe to enhance transparency, accountability and to fight for the Eurozone and the EU as a whole
EPP Group: Newsroom, 09/07/2020: Paschal Donohoe will lead the Eurogroup by good example

Subject Categories
Subject Tags
International Organisations