The Schengen Area [What Think Tanks Are Thinking]

Author (Corporate)
Series Title
Series Details 16.02.16
Publication Date 16/02/2016
Content Type

The unprecedented migration crisis has put severe pressure on the Schengen area of 26 European countries which have abolished passport and any other type of control at their common borders. As member states reinstate border checks, some politicians predict that the Schengen area may break apart unless a solution is quickly found to manage the flow of migrants fleeing war and poverty in the Middle East, Asia and Africa.

Of 28 EU member states, 22 participate in the Schengen area. Of the six members that do not, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are legally obliged and wish to join the area, while Ireland and Britain maintain opt-outs.

This note offers links to recent studies and reports from major international think tanks and research institutes on the state of future of the Schengen area. More papers on the migration crisis can be found in a previous edition of 'What think tanks are thinking'.

Compiled by Marcin Grajewski.

Source Link
Related Links
ESO: Background information: Schengen area
ESO: Background information: Schengen's stress test: political issues and perspectives
ESO: Background information: The EU needs to overcome fear and divisions to safeguard Schengen, say MEPs
ESO: Information Guide: European Migration Challenges
ESO: Background information: 'Schengen': a race against the time or a fools’ game?

Subject Categories ,
Countries / Regions
Record URL